contact      de | en
Header 11
VOR DER MAUER - NACH DER MAUER

(„Before the Wall – After the Wall“)

  

BABY SOMMER & FRIENDS

 

The quartet „Before the Wall – After the Wall“ combines the musical powers of two generations: Legendary drummer Günter Baby Sommer and sax/reeds player Friedhelm Schönfeld, two of the most outstanding representatives of free improvised music during the GDR, meet two important young artists involved in the contemporary improvised jazz scene: piano player Julia Kadel and singer Walburga Walde.

 

Baby Sommer has been one of the most significant protagonists in the GDR Jazzmusic scene and is today regarded as „the“ world-class jazz musician from Dresden. This path was also paved by sax and reeds player Friedhelm Schönfeld, who asked Sommer to join his trio in 1966. Schönfeld studied clarinet, piano and composition in East Berlin from 1950 until 1958. From 1960 until 1970 he was lead alto and solo saxophonist with the Rundfunk-Tanzorchester Berlin. It was during this time that he developed his talents in composing and arranging. Friedhelm Schönfeld formed various jazz bands for different concert and production occasions. His „Friedhelm-Schönfeld-Trio“, founded with double bass player Klaus Koch and Baby Sommer in 1966, was influential for the development of GDR Jazz. During that time, Schönfeld was considered to be one of the best known jazz musicians of the GDR and was, among Joachim Kühn, Manfred Schulze and Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky, one of the most important groundbreakers for the new jazz.

 

Julia Kadel's name has been spreading in the circles of music lovers and experts since 2014. Her current album „Julia Kadel Trio“ managed to earn her a record deal with the major label Universal Music, where she could publish her first trio albums at the legendary Blue Note jazz label. In 2015, Kadel was nominated for the German Echo Jazz in twice, both as instrumentalist as well as with her trio. Singer Walburga Walde is well known for various exciting projects on improvised music. She is one of the few onomatopoetic singers whose style does not sound rehearsed and artificial but natural and free.

 

When these four musicians come together, their stories and sounds from different eras and perspectives mix and combine. They meet speaking in and listening to each other's very individual musical languages.

 

 

CAST

 

Günter Baby Sommer (drums)
Friedhelm Schönfeld (saxophon/reeds)
Walburga Walde (vocal)
Julia Kadel (piano)

 

 

BOOKING

 

babysommer@nexgo.de
mail@juliakadel.com
T + 49 (0) 176-62306841

contact      de | en
Header 11
VOR DER MAUER - NACH DER MAUER

  

BABY SOMMER & FRIENDS

 

Im Quartett „Vor der Mauer – Nach der Mauer“ treffen mit Schlagzeugerlegende Günter Baby Sommer und Saxofonist Friedhelm Schönfeld zwei der herausragendsten Vertreter der freien Musik der DDR auf zwei junge, wichtige Künstlerinnen der aktuellen Improvisationsszene – Pianistin Julia Kadel und Sängerin Walburga Walde.

 

Baby Sommer ist einer der maßgeblichsten Protagonisten des DDR-Jazz gewesen und heute „der“ Dresdner Jazzmusiker von Weltrang. Auf diesen Weg brachte ihn der Sax - und Reedplayer Friedhelm Schönfeld, indem er Sommer 1966 in sein nachstehend erwähntes Trio holte. Schönfeld studierte von 1950 bis 1958 Klarinette, Klavier und Komposition in Ost-Berlin und war von 1960 bis 1970 Erster Alt- und Solo-Saxophonist beim Rundfunk-Tanzorchester Berlin. Der Ausbau seiner Kompositions- und Arrangeurstätigkeit liegt in dieser Zeit. Friedhelm Schönfeld formierte eigene Jazzgruppen zu diversen Konzert- und Produktionsanlässen. Das 1966 zusammen mit dem Kontrabassisten Klaus Koch und Baby Sommer gegründete „Friedhelm-Schönfeld-Trio“ war für die Entwicklung des DDR-Jazz orientierend. In dieser Zeit galt Schönfeld als einer der bekanntesten Jazzmusiker der damaligen DDR und gehörte dort – neben Joachim Kühn, Manfred Schulze und Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky – zu den wichtigsten Wegbereitern des Neuen Jazz.

 

Julia Kadels Name macht besonders seit 2014 in Fach- und Musikliebhaberkreisen die Runde. Mit ihrem aktuellen „Julia Kadel Trio“ ist es ihr in jenem Jahr gelungen, beim legendären Jazzlabel Blue Note unter dem Dach von Universal Music herauszukommen. 2015 war Kadel zweifach für den deutschen Echo Jazz nominiert: als Instrumentalistin und zusammen mit ihrem Trio. Die Sängerin Walburga Walde ist bekannt aus zahlreichen aufregenden Projekten improvisierter Musik. Sie ist eine der wenigen lautmalerischen Sängerinnen, deren Onomatopoesie nicht eingeübt, sondern absolut natürlich und selbstverständlich wirkt.

 

Kommen diese vier Musiker zusammen, so vermischen sich ihre Geschichten und Klänge aus den unterschiedlichsten Epochen und Perspektiven. Dabei begegnen sie sich mit ihren eigenständigen musikalischen Stimmen und hören einander zu.

 

 

BESETZUNG

 

Günter Baby Sommer (drums)
Friedhelm Schönfeld (saxophon/reeds)
Walburga Walde (vocal)
Julia Kadel (piano)

 

 

BOOKING

 

babysommer@nexgo.de
mail@juliakadel.com
T + 49 (0) 176-62306841